More tiny sewing

After sewing tiny foundation paper pieced (FPP) blocks last month, this month I have been doing some teeny tiny English paper piecing (EPP).

The FPP blocks have been completed for the secret sewing project, but there were four plain blocks that needed embellishing. I decided to applique tiny Dresden plates onto these but the only problem was making the plates small enough to fit on a 1¼” block!

I first tried assembling the plates the traditional way but these turned out too big. I then tried using EPP to piece the plates – these were the right size, but the centre was untidy. To overcome the untidy centre, I got rid of the centre and made a “Dresden ring” instead.

For something so small, these were very time consuming to make and I’m glad that only four were needed for the project.

Leave a comment